How to create a picture book on iPad and sell it on Amazon

Two tools I’ve used to create picture books are Sketchbook Pro and BookCreator for iPad.

First I draw my pictures on Sketchbook. Then I export them to my Photo Roll and download them in BookCreator, where I’ve already chosen a picture book format: landscape, portrait or square.

Next I type my picture book on BookCreator, adding text to each page.
Then the fun begins. I download the illustrations I’ve created in Sketchbook Pro from my photo stream and position them on the pages of my new picture book.

Next I email my completed book to my email address on my iMac, where arrives as an attachment.

Then I drag the attached file (which is in ePub format at this point) from the email to my desktop.

At this point, I open the conversion kit Amazon has created to convert an ePub file to a mobi file, which is the format that works on Amazon. Go to The KDP Select website on Amazon to find the various parts of this kit—KF8 Converter, Kindle Generating Software and Kindle Gen Zip.

Now I drag my picture book (which is in ePub format on my desktop) into the KF8/KindleGen Converter, and wah-la! KF8 transforms it from an ePub file to a mobi file.

Next I go to the KDP Select page on Amazon and fill it out—my book’s title, author, etc. Then I upload my book (in mobi format) as well as my book’s cover (which I’ve taken a screenshot of while it was in BookCreator and emailed to my Mac, where it appears as an attachment which I then drag to my desktop).

Lastly, I complete the Amazon form (enable DRM, set my price, etc.) and press submit. 12 hours (or less) later, my book appears on my Amazon Bookshelf and is available for purchase on Amazon.com.

Sounds hard but isn’t!

Leave a Reply

