Summer’s Here–the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Dear Readers,

I don’t know why, but I’m not keen on change.  Any kind of change.  My mother often says I balked about going to kindergarten. And I remember feeling bad when I aged out of single-digits–worse when I left my teens for my 20s!

So it probably won’t surprise you to hear I’m loathe to change seasons, too–even when that means leaving a ‘bad’ season (cold stark winter) for a lovely one, like spring.  So spring into summer?  Forgetaboutit!  

Still, I have to admit, change has it’s virtues. It just takes me a while to appreciate them.  So here’s to summer–and it’s happy upsides . . .

1.  I get to see my kids more.

2.  We go to the beach for a week.

3.  No more getting up for school at 7 AM.

4.  And no homework for kids to stress over.

5.  Even better, no more school lunches for me to make. Yay!

6.  I get to read books for fun–not just ‘good’ books.

7.  Thunderstorms–I love ’em!  They were one of the things I missed most when I lived in CA.

As for summer’s downside–well, you know–it’s hot hot hot hot hot hot hot hot hot hot hot hot . . . .

Thanks for stopping by.  Here’s a little poem to help you cool off and enjoy this wacky weather–

A Growing Boy

Onions
olives
pickles
pears—
my stomach
is a fiend,
I swear!

No matter
what is
on my plate,
my tummy
craves
another taste.

I feed it
morning
noon
and night,
but all it
wants is
“one more bite.”

So…
though
my eating
never ends,
it’s not for me—
it’s for
“my friend.”

2 thoughts on “Summer’s Here–the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

  1. Really really cute,clever enjoyed reading this post keep them coming luv,luv,luv

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

